Four Men’s Volleyball Players Named Scholar-Athletes by NEAC

Tommy Kisick, Ian Rathgeb, Jonathan Ruhl, Tanner Yaw
Credit: Penn State

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference has announced its 2017-18 Scholar-Athlete selections, and the list includes four Penn State Altoona men’s volleyball players.

In order to be selected, a student-athlete competing in a conference-sponsored sport must achieve a combined grade point average of 3.4 or higher for the fall and spring semesters. The student-athlete must also have been in good standing on his team.

The Lions volleyball players who qualified for 2017-18 NEAC Scholar-Athlete status are:

  • Tommy Kisick (Latrobe, PA/Greater Latrobe)  -  sophomore  -  Management major
  • Ian Rathgeb (Douglassville, PA/Daniel Boone)  -  freshman  -  Mechanical Engineering major
  • Jonathan Ruhl (Lancaster, PA/Manheim Township)  -  senior  -  Business Marketing/Management major
  • Tanner Yaw (Palmyra, PA/Palmyra)  -  sophomore  -  Accounting major

Penn State Altoona is an associate member of the NEAC, with the league serving as the Lions’ primary conference for the sport of men’s volleyball.