Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Summer 2017

Penn State Altoona Academic Calendar - Summer Semester
Event 4-Week Session 1st 6-Week Session 2nd 6-Week Session
Registration Begins Friday, Feb 3 Friday, Feb 3 Friday, Feb 3
Intent to Graduate Filing May 8 – June 16 May 8 – June 16 May 8 – June 16
Classes Begin Monday, May 8 Monday, May 8 Monday, June 26
Drop Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Add Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Late Drop Begins Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Late Registration Begins Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Memorial Day - No Classes Monday, May 29 Monday, May 29  
Memorial Day Make Up Day Friday, May 19 Friday, May 19  
Independence Day - No Classes     Tuesday, July 4
Independence Day Make Up Day     Friday, July 7
Late Drop Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Withdrawal Deadline Thursday, June 1 Thursday, June 15 Thursday, August 3
Classes End Thursday, June 1 Thursday, June 15 Thursday, August 3
Final Exams Friday, June 2 Friday, June 16 Friday, August 4

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH "Schedule - Course Drop Dates" application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Fall 2017

Fall 2017
Event Date(s) Day(s)
Re-enrollment Deadline Aug 4 Fri
Intent to Graduate Activation Period
~Declare Minor Deadline for FA17 Grads – Sept 5
Aug 14-Sept 5 Mon-Tues
Arrival Day of New Students Aug 18 Fri
Leave of Absence Deadline Aug 18 Fri
Arrival Day of Returning Students Aug 20 Sun
Classes Begin Aug 21 Mon
1Regular Drop Deadline Aug 26-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sat
1Regular Add Deadline Aug 27-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sun
1Late Drop Begins Aug 27 Sun
1Late Registration Begins Aug 28 Mon
Labor Day – No Classes Sept 4 Mon
Final Exam Conflict Filing Period Sept 25-Oct 13 Mon-Fri
1Late Drop Deadline Nov 10-11:59 p.m. (ET) Fri
Thanksgiving Holiday—No Classes Nov 19-25 Sun-Sat
Withdrawal Deadline Dec 8-5:00 p.m. (ET) Fri
Classes End Dec 8 Fri
Study Days Dec 9-10 Sat-Sun
Final Exams Dec 11-14 Mon-Thurs
Penn State Altoona Commencement Dec 16 Sat
University Park Commencement Dec 16 Sat

~ Minors must be declared before activating the intent to graduate. Once intent is filed, a minor can no longer be added.

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH “Schedule - Course Drop Dates” application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Spring 2018

Spring 2018
Event Date(s) Day(s)
Re-enrollment Deadline Dec 15 Fri
Intent to Graduate Activation Period
~Declare Minor Deadline for SP18 Grads – Jan 22
Jan 2-22 Tues-Mon
Leave of Absence Deadline Jan 5 Fri
Arrival of Residence Hall Students Jan 7 Sun
Classes Begin Jan 8 Mon
1Regular Drop Deadline Jan 13-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sat
1Regular Add Deadline Jan 14-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sun
1Late Drop Begins Jan 14 Sun
1Late Registration Begins Jan 15 Mon
Martin Luther King Day – No Classes Jan 15 Mon
Final Exam Conflict Filing Period Feb 12-Mar 2 Mon-Fri
Spring Break—No Classes Mar 4-10 Sun-Sat
1Late Drop Deadline Apr 6-11:59 p.m. (ET) Fri
Withdrawal Deadline Apr 27-5:00 p.m. (ET) Fri
Classes End Apr 27 Fri
Study Days Apr 28-29 Sat-Sun
Final Exams Apr 30-May 3 Mon-Thurs
Penn State Altoona Commencement May 5 Sat
University Park Commencement May 4-6 Fri-Sun

~ Minors must be declared before activating the intent to graduate. Once intent is filed, a minor can no longer be added.

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH “Schedule - Course Drop Dates” application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.