Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Spring 2018

Spring 2018
Event Date(s) Day(s)
Re-enrollment Deadline Dec 15 Fri
Intent to Graduate Activation Period
~Declare Minor Deadline for SP18 Grads – Jan 22
Jan 2-22 Tues-Mon
Leave of Absence Deadline Jan 5 Fri
Arrival of Residence Hall Students Jan 7 Sun
Classes Begin Jan 8 Mon
1Regular Drop Deadline Jan 13-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sat
1Regular Add Deadline Jan 14-11:59 p.m. (ET) Sun
1Late Drop Begins Jan 14 Sun
1Late Registration Begins Jan 15 Mon
Martin Luther King Day – No Classes Jan 15 Mon
Final Exam Conflict Filing Period Feb 12-Mar 2 Mon-Fri
Spring Break—No Classes Mar 4-10 Sun-Sat
1Late Drop Deadline Apr 6-11:59 p.m. (ET) Fri
Withdrawal Deadline Apr 27-5:00 p.m. (ET) Fri
Classes End Apr 27 Fri
Study Days Apr 28-29 Sat-Sun
Final Exams Apr 30-May 3 Mon-Thurs
Penn State Altoona Commencement May 5 Sat
University Park Commencement May 4-6 Fri-Sun

~ Minors must be declared before activating the intent to graduate. Once intent is filed, a minor can no longer be added.

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH “Schedule - Course Drop Dates” application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Summer 2018

Summer 2018
Event 4-Week Session 1st 6-Week Session 2nd 6-Week Session
Registration Begins Monday, Feb 5 Monday, Feb 5 Monday, Feb 5
Intent to Graduate Filing May 7 – June 15 May 7 – June 15 May 7 – June 15
Classes Begin Monday, May 7 Monday, May 7 Monday, June 25
Drop Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Add Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Late Drop Begins Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Late Registration Begins Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Memorial Day - No Classes Monday, May 28 Monday, May 28  
Memorial Day Make Up Day Friday, May 11 Friday, May 11  
Independence Day - No Classes     Wednesday, July 4
Independence Day - Make Up Day     Friday, July 6
Late Drop Deadline Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule Refer to your Schedule
Withdrawal Deadline Thursday, May 31 Thursday, June 14 Thursday, August 2
Classes End Thursday, May 31 Thursday, June 14 Thursday, August 2
Final Exams Friday, June 1 Friday, June 15 Friday, August 3

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Fall 2018

Fall 2018
Event Date(s) Day(s)
Re-enrollment Deadline Aug 3 Fri
Intent to Graduate Activation Period Aug 13-Sept 4 Mon-Tues
~Declare Minor Deadline for FA18 Grads Sept 4 Thu
Arrival Day of New Students Aug 17 Fri
Leave of Absence Deadline Aug 17 Fri
Arrival Day of Returning Students Aug 19 Sun
Classes Begin Aug 20 Mon
1Regular Drop Deadline Aug 25 (11:59 p.m. ET) Sat
1Regular Add Deadline Aug 26 (11:59 p.m. ET) Sun
1Late Drop Begins Aug 26 Sun
1Late Registration Begins Aug 27 Mon
Labor Day – No Classes Sept 3 Mon
Final Exam Conflict Filing Period Sept 24-Oct 12 Mon-Fri
1Late Drop Deadline Nov 9 (11:59 p.m. ET) Fri
Thanksgiving Holiday—No Classes Nov 18-24 Sun-Sat
Withdrawal Deadline Dec 7 (5:00 p.m. ET) Fri
Classes End Dec 7 Fri
Study Days Dec 8-9 Sat-Sun
Final Exams Dec 10-13 Mon-Thu
Penn State Altoona Commencement Dec 15 Sat
University Park Commencement Dec 15 Sat

~ Minors must be declared before activating the intent to graduate. Once intent is filed, a minor can no longer be added.

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH “Schedule - Course Drop Dates” application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Spring 2019

Spring 2019
Event Date(s) Day(s)
Re-enrollment Deadline Dec 14 Fri
Intent to Graduate Activation Period Jan 2-21 Wed-Mon
~Declare Minor Deadline for SP19 Grads Jan 21 Mon
Leave of Absence Deadline Jan 4 Fri
Arrival of Residence Hall Students Jan 6 Sun
Classes Begin Jan 7 Mon
1Regular Drop Deadline Jan 12 (11:59 p.m. ET) Sat
1Regular Add Deadline Jan 13 (11:59 p.m. ET) Sun
1Late Drop Begins Jan 13 Sun
1Late Registration Begins Jan 14 Mon
Martin Luther King Day – No Classes Jan 21 Mon
Final Exam Conflict Filing Period Feb 11-Mar 1 Mon-Fri
Spring Break—No Classes Mar 3-9 Sun-Sat
1Late Drop Deadline Apr 5 (11:59 p.m. ET) Fri
Withdrawal Deadline Apr 26 (5:00 p.m. ET) Fri
Classes End Apr 26 Fri
Study Days Apr 27-28 Sat-Sun
Final Exams Apr 29-May 2 Mon-Thu
Penn State Altoona Commencement May 4 Sat
University Park Commencement May 3-5 Fri-Sun

~ Minors must be declared before activating the intent to graduate. Once intent is filed, a minor can no longer be added.

1 These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the LionPATH “Schedule - Course Drop Dates” application for further information.

This calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, the University makes every effort to avoid conflict with religious holidays. However, conflicts are sometimes unavoidable. When they occur, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.